Jay-Z quotes to live by

jay-z-u08

This was written by the one and only Recshop at the old site but since it got so much love over there had to bring it back one time.

Who says that hip hop and our Mc’s don’t do a good job of providing us with our fix of daily inspiration. After all hip hop is the reason some of us get up in the morning. After looking for inspirational quotes online I decided to make up my own hip hop version of quotes to live by. I’m gonna go through some of the greatest MC’s of all time…first up Mr.Beyonce/Carter/Artful Dodger/ 40/40/Sean Carter Music Group/Mr just inked a mega deal…let’s bring water to the world…h-o-v-a

Top 10 Jay-Z quotes to live by:

  1. “I will not lose for even in defeat, there’s a valuable lesson learned so it evens up for me.”from Blueprint 2, The Blueprint 2
  2. “Treat my first like my last and the last like my first and my thirst is the same as- when I came.”from My 1st Song, The Black Album
  3. “And a drought can define a man when the well drys up you learn the worth of water without work you thirst til you die yep.”from December 4th “Black Album
  4. “If you can’t respect that your whole perspective is whack, maybe you’ll love me when I fade to black…” from Fade to Black ” Black Album
  5. “…I’m not a businessman. I’m a business…maaaannn…”from Diamonds Are Forever Remix
  6. “…Remind yourself. Nobody built like you, you design yourself…”from A Dream, Blueprint 2
  7. “…I’m far from God, but I work god damn hard…”
    from Breath Easy, The Blueprint
  8. I’m a hustler homey, you a customer cronyGot some, dirt on my shoulder, could you brush it off for me? from Dirt off Your Shoulders, Black Album
  9. We as rappers must decide what’s most impor-tantAnd i can’t help the poor if i’m one of them So i got rich and gave back To me that’s the win, win The next time you see the homie and his rims spin Just know my mind is workin just like them from Moment of Clarity, Black Album
  10. And if you think you can make it this far without a fightCouple mistakes here and there, not always right. But I’m always real, that’s how I sleep at night from Sweet, American Gangster

These are my top 10 words to live by…anyone else want to add some more in?

114 Responses to Jay-Z quotes to live by

  1. yo mamaa says:

    dis is stupid

  2. Reconstruct. says:

    Jay Z, is a very smart man, but you didn’t put his best on here.
    nice quotes tho’. I’d start from Reasonable Doubt to American Gangster Today.
    “I’’d rather die enormous than live dormant.”-Jay Z.
    “He Who Does Not Feel Me Is Not Real To Me.” -Jay Z.
    “No lie, just know I chose my own fate / I drove by the fork in the road and went straight”-Jay Z.

  3. coltblue says:

    you guys are forgetting one of the most impressive verses in hip hop history.

    We used to fight for building blocks
    Now we fight for blocks with buildings that make a killing
    The closest of friends when we first started
    But grew apart as the money grew, and soon grew black-hearted
    Thinking back when we first learned to use rubbers
    He never learned so in turn I’m kidnapping his baby’s mother
    My hand around her collar, feeding her cheese
    She said the taste of dollars was shitty so I fed her fifties
    About his whereabouts I wasn’t convinced
    So I kept feeding her money ’til her shit started to make sense
    Who could ever forsee, we used to stay up all night at slumber parties
    now I’m trying to rock this bitch to sleep
    All the years we were real close
    Now I see his fears through her tears, know she’s wishing we were still
    close
    Don’t cry, it is to be
    In time, I’ll take away your miseries and make ’em mine, D’Evils…

  4. Sim says:

    “he who does not fel me is not real to me, therefore he does not exist. so pooof, vamoose, son of a bitch.”

  5. Sparkle says:

    I CAME I SAW I CONQUERED FROM RECORD SELLS TO SOLD OUT CONCERTS

  6. bi says:

    I wise man once told never argue with fools. Cos people from a distance can’t tell who is who.

  7. Victoria says:

    another better quote

    Bite your tongue for no one and whatever is said Take it how they want, a closed mouth don’t get fed.

  8. Viva says:

    Success is like suicide. Suicide its a suicide, if you succeed prepare to be crucified

  9. Goofy Omega says:

    go jay z u rock and keep it real let the world know exactly who u r your goofy omega 100 bullets

  10. Goofy Omega says:

    jay z r u as real as u think r has the fame change u into a totally different person if not tell and show your neighborhood that u change because fame does change u , but u haven’t forgot your girl goofy omega

  11. sedaracapree says:

    i think jayz is an amazing artist and i think he is way underestimated. im sick of people saying he worships the devil because he doesnt. keep hatin everyone.your just making him bigger and better

  12. trustar says:

    Niggas be a father, your killing yo son. – Meet the parents

  13. kram says:

    im a renegade never been afraid to tell whats on my mind any given time or day coz im a renegade never been afraid to talk about anything..

  14. Anonymous says:

    son say hov how u get so fly, i said from not being afraid to fall out the sky. beach chair. kingdom come

  15. Anonymous says:

    9 to 5 is how u survive, i aint trin survive i’m trin to live it to the limit and love alive. ‘d EVILS’ reasonable doubt

  16. Jay Cidy says:

    “I drove by the fork in the road and went straight”
    Jay Z didnt make that up or “never argue with fools because from far away one can’t tell who’s who” a lot of these quotes are really cliches but one of my favs is —

    “I get my by any means on, whenever there’s a drought get your umbrellas out because that’s when I brainstorm.”

  17. Anonymous says:

    I’m talking about real sh-t,
    real people playin what is you talking bout,
    i dunno what ya’ll sayin
    people keep talking about “Hov take it back”
    I’m doing better than before why would I do that?

    AIN’T NOTHIN COOL BOUT CARRYING A STRAP,
    BOUT WORRYING YA MOMS AND BURYING YA BEST CAT!!!!
    TALKING BOUT REVENGE WHILE U CARRYING HIS CASKET,
    ALL TEARY EYED BOUT 2 TAKE IT 2 A MATTRESS!!!!

  18. d best says:

    somebody got a problem with hova . what yall mad cause i got a lil chedar and my record moving out the store

  19. TheeChozen1 says:

    Never read the Quaran or Islamic scriptures..Only Psalms I read was on the arms of my niggaz..Tattooed so I carry on like I’m non-religious
    Clap whoever stand between Shawn and figures.. Niggaz

  20. JayZfan says:

    This from a female fan homie!!!!!!!!!!
    “…you dudes treating the one that you loving the same way you treating the the one’s that you humping, aint that bout nothing!”

  21. Action Jackson says:

    “Far from a harvard student, just had the balls to do it”

  22. Jkoop89427 says:

    I’m in the hall already, on the wall already
    I’m a work of art, I’m a Warhol already

    On another level, on another plane already
    H-O-V I got my own lane already (already)

    DOPE. blueprint III he kills it

  23. Dj Nine five says:

    Best line ever ” You dudes better chill cuz I kill at will like solid water, you dudes don’t get it kill at will solid water ICE CUBE” Bumping my music remix Ray Kash

  24. StevieTheDon says:

    this is some hot shit….now i know where the real fans are at!!!!

  25. Anonymous says:

    “its just once in a blue, when there’s nothing to do and the tension gets too thick for my sober mind to cut through” – Feelin It

  26. torri says:

    “im not a biter..im a writer..for myself and others..i say a BIG verse..im onlu bigging up my brother..bigging up my borough..im big enough to do it..im that thorough..plus i know my own flow is foolish..so them rings..and things u sing about..bring em out..its hard to yell when the barrells in your mouth” —what more can i say..black album

  27. torri says:

    ” my name is hov ! H to the O V.. i use to move snowflakes by the O Z..and even back then you can call me C E O of the R O C !– p.s.a..black album

  28. JerZey'S FinEsT says:

    “All of these rap singers claimin they bangers, doin all sorts of stupid shit wit they fingers, disrespectin the game no home trainin or manners, I was doing this shit when you was shittin ya pampers” The Watcher- Bluprint 2

  29. Tache says:

    I’m C.E.O. and yeah going god. I’m so indebted, I should have been deaded. Selling blow in the park, this I know in my heart. Now I’m so enlightened I might glow in the dark. I been up in the office you might know him as Clark But, just when you thought the whole world fell apart, I take off the blazer loosen up the tie, Step inside the booth Superman is alive… Kingdom come, Kingdom come 🙂

  30. Anonymous says:

    media metals, niggas sue you, you settle. every step you take they remind you you ghetto!

  31. Anonymous says:

    “In a race to a billion got his face to the ceiling, got his knees on the floor please lord forgive him. has he lost his religion? is the greed gone get him? he’s having heaven on earth will his wings still fit him?” fire!!!

  32. C-Note says:

    one day you cruising in your seven
    next day you’re sweating
    forgetting your lies
    alibis ain’t matching up
    bullshit catching up
    hit with that reko
    they repo that ve-hi-cle
    everything was all good just a week ago
    ready to start snitching ain’t you
    ready to start bitching ain’t you
    i forgive you weak ass
    hustling just ain’t you
    “Dead Presidents I”

  33. Seeson says:

    i’m from up the block around the corner and down the street, from where pimps prostatutes and the druglords meet… No matter the wather, niggas know how to raise heat. (where I’m from) Jay is just too nice.

  34. Yogi says:

    “We make a million off of beats, cause our stories are deep
    and fuck 2mor, as long as the night before was sweet.”

    Jay-Z Where I’m from.

  35. mix says:

    Difficult takes a day impossible takes a week

    Jay-z
    Diamonds are forever

  36. Roy says:

    Hov got flow, though he’s no Big and Pac, but he’s close
    How I’m ‘posed to win? They got me fighting ghosts…

  37. Anonymous says:

    i dont who yall are chasing, im already at the finish line with the flag waving

  38. Anonymous says:

    “Built the ROC from a pebble, pedalled rock before I met you” From Never Let Me Down

  39. jaystyles says:

    Ill sell ice in the winter fire in hell I am a hustler baby Ill seel water to a whale.

  40. MJ says:

    Survive the droughts, i wish you well…
    Survive the droughts? I wish you well?
    How sick am i? I wish you HEALTH
    I wish you wheels, i wish you wealth
    I wish you insight so you could see for yourself
    –American Gangster

  41. Tre7teen says:

    “sorry momma I promised it wouldn’t change me but I woulda went insane if I remained the same me, fuck niggas bitches too all I got is this money n this a do!” Light it up drake ft jay z

  42. Anonymous says:

    “When the grass is cut, the snakes will show, I gotta thank the little homie Nas for that though.”

  43. nick says:

    ‘….they like the drankard uncle in ur family,u knw they lame,u feel ashamed bt u love em all the same’..i’m in a good mood u lucky,
    dear summer,the flow n the word play is jay @ his best.

  44. irene says:

    “I used to give a fuck, now I give a fuck less. What do I think of success? It sucks too much to stress.”

    “They say you can’t turn a bad girl good. But once a good girl’s gone bad, she’s gone forever.”

    “The problem is you dudes treat the one that you lovin’ with the same respect that you treat you one you humpin’.”

    “My life isn’t rosy but I roll with it.”

    “Oh you not feelin’ me? fine, it cost you nothing. pay me no mind.”

    “Don’t deep throat, she floats, murder she wrote, and keeps the heat close.”

    “He who does not feel me is not real to me, therefore he does not exist.”

    “Just like the gods I start with knowledge and follow with wisdom for greater understanding.”

    I can’t see them coming down my eyes so I gotta make this song cry.”

  45. nick says:

    ‘my mind is infected wit sick thoughts that circle like a lexus’

    ‘when the grass is cut the snakes will show,gotta thank my lil hommie nas for that thou’

    ‘i don sleep,keep one eye open like C-B-S’

    ‘mama forgive me i shulda bin thinkin bout havard,bt thats too far n niggas are starvin,nothin wrong wit aim u just gon change the target’

    ‘too many brothers wanna b lovers bt don knw wat romance is’

    ‘i know the difference btwn a bitch and a B nigga’
    nicizzz@yahoo.com

  46. amumusic says:

    When I come back like Jordan wearing the four-five/ it ain’t to play games w/ you its to aim at you.

  47. Anonymous says:

    -This necklace…one of the reasons my dates been blind dates

  48. LaLa says:

    Poser, no sir
    My hustle, so Russell
    I stretch work, Yoga
    You know I got it down dog, Al Roker
    I used to knock pounds off
    It ain’t nothing for me to knock nouns off
    At these MC’s praying for my downfall
    They just haters, I wave at you
    I’m so player
    I’ll never be done, I’m so rare

  49. bad jess says:

    I never asked for nothin I don’t demand of myself
    Honesty, loyalty, friends and then wealth
    Death before dishonor and I tell you what else
    I tighten my belt ‘fore I beg for help
    Foolish pride is what held me together through the years
    I wasn’t felt which is why I ain’t never played myself
    I just play the hand I’m dealt, I can’t say I’ve never knelt
    before God and asked for better cards at times to no avail
    But I never sat back feelin sorry for myself
    If you don’t give me heaven I’ll raise hell
    ‘Til it’s heaven

  50. Nat says:

    He’s alright…. But he’s not real.

  51. Nat says:

    Either love me or leave me alone.

    niggaz stuck on stupid… I gotta keep it movin

  52. gifted says:

    most witty brother of yo time dude,keep the fire burning.

  53. tracker says:

    the greatest lyricist. give him his time. pac and big are legends but jay is at the same level or even beyond

  54. Anonymous says:

    My nigga

  55. Pravia says:

    I don’t KNOW how to sleep, I gotta eat, stay on my toes
    Gotta a lot of beef, so logically, I pray on my fours
    Hustling’s still inside of me, and as far as progress
    you’d be hard-pressed, to find another rapper hot as me
    I gave you prophecy on my first joint, and y’all lamed out
    Didn’t really appreciate it, til the second one came out
    So I stretched the game out, X’ed your name out
    Put Jigga on top, and drop albums non-stop for ya, nigguh!

  56. Tladyy says:

    I got 99 problems, but a bitch ain’t one!

  57. Bigchamp says:

    Lost 92 bricks had to fall back-knocked a nigga off his feet but I crawled back Had a 1 credit got more crack from the 1 to the 5th gave it all back if im not a hustler whatcha call that this is before rap these is all facts i never change

  58. 13een says:

    we do dirt like worms, produce G’s like sperm, 2 legs spread like germs. I got extensive hoes, with expensive clothes and I sip fine wines and spit vintage flows, what yall dunno… Cause you cant knock the hustle..

  59. Andreadakid says:

    Jay-z is a damn genious!

  60. pbtstyle says:

    “If you don’t like it
    look in the mirror.
    Most likily you ain’t live it
    so you don’t get it,
    you ain’t with it
    You can’t picture the picture I’m painting ain’t vivid.
    The language I’m speaking is so foriegn to you.
    See what staring will do to you”

  61. tyght us says:

    jealousy is a female trait
    when they speak of success,am what they might mean
    cant where skinny jeans coz my nuts cant fit.skinny nigga toothpick

    jay hova is the best thing that happened to hip hop and the best thea can b.

  62. Shanty B says:

    “With No pen Just Draw of inspiration”.

    “If it aint Directed Direclty at me i dont Respct it.”

    “If this is Heaven to me is this Considered Heavenly”

    ” Mr Exxon Gas em With the Witt and the Charm “

  63. ImRaw24 says:

    “Dark Knight Feelin,Die And Be A Hero,Or Live Long Enough To See Yourself Become The Villian”

  64. chek matt says:

    Nigga said Hova was over, such dummies
    Even if I fell I land on a bunch of money

  65. Sonieve says:

    “Can I live…”

    “My shit is butter for the bread, they want to toast me”

    “I keep my heads, both of them, where they are supposed to be, hoes will get you clapped from close feet…”

    “We don’t lease, we buy the whole car, as you should…”

    “This street school us, to spend our money foolish, Bond with jewelers and watch for intruders…”

  66. Anonymous says:

    ” i’m just so offended, how am I even mentioned by all these fucking beginners, i’m so appalled, I might buy the mall, just to show niggas how much more I have installed. “

  67. Anonymous says:

    ” i’m fresher than you all, so I don’t have to pause, all of ya’ll can suck my balls through my drawers. ”

  68. Anonymous says:

    But the real shit u get when u bust down my lines, add that to the fact i went platinum a bunch of times, times that by my influence on pop culture, im supposed to be on everybody’s list….we’ll see what happens when i no longer exist…ILL!!!! BLACK ALBUM

  69. pasta oyunları…

    Jay-Z quotes to live by « pleasedontstare…

  70. shotgun microphone for camcorder…

    […]Jay-Z quotes to live by « pleasedontstare[…]…

  71. tyeasy says:

    Hov is the truth…hes like god to dudes like me!! Im from Marcy projects Brooklyn on the flushing side. To see him make it out of there is a blessing because the projects are like a jungle.One of the hottest verses to me is when he said ” I could never go broke my name has 2 g’s J.I.2g A i flip that pawn the platinum and be on the next day”

  72. rest in peace…

    […]Jay-Z quotes to live by « pleasedontstare[…]…

  73. bwin kladionica…

    […]Jay-Z quotes to live by « pleasedontstare[…]…

  74. strains of weed…

    […]Jay-Z quotes to live by « pleasedontstare[…]…

  75. PoloKing says:

    I put my hand on my heart..that means I feel ya..real recognized real and u are looking familiar.. “ALL AROUND THE WORLD”

    Youll get a return on your investment if attention you paid ……GUNS N ROSES

    I don’t want much fuck..I drove every car…HEART OF THE CITY

    Lock my body can’t trap my mind..which easily explain why we adapt to crime..CAN I LIVE.

    And the watches be all types of shapes and stones…being broke is childish and I’m quite grown…I LOVE THE DOE

    just a few..I’m sure I will be back to list 20 more or so

  76. …everybody trynna be bobby brown…to be bobby then, u gotta be bobby now…now the question is…to have had an lost…better then not havin at all??? -Jay Z

  77. Hayden says:

    “I rhyme sicker than every rhyme spitter. Every crime nigga that rhyme or touch a mic because my mind’s quicker. I’ a eighty-eighter, nine-six to “Reasoable Doubt”. Temper short, don’t take much to squeeze you out. Yeah you shinin but the only thing you’re leavin out. You’re a candle in the sun – that shit don’t even out.” – Hola’ Hovito (Blueprint 2)

  78. Buy Costume Online Cheap…

    […]Jay-Z quotes to live by « pleasedontstare[…]…

  79. used glass display cases…

    […]Jay-Z quotes to live by « pleasedontstare[…]…

  80. Eminem Songs Lyrics…

    […]Jay-Z quotes to live by « pleasedontstare[…]…

  81. Make Money On The Interenet…

    […]Jay-Z quotes to live by « pleasedontstare[…]…

  82. asg says:

    Here’s one- this isn’t him rapping its just a few words at the beginning of a mashup that i haven’t heard anywhere else…

    “People look at you strange, saying you changed… like you worked that hard just to stay the same. You’re doing all this for a reason. and what happens most of the time, people change. People change around you because they start treating you different because of your success… so you are changing. You don’t change who you are – the core of who you are, the things you believe, the things you love, and the things you’d die for, your principles – you don’t change that, but you’re gonna change who you are. You’re gonna change… you know, you can’t do the same things, you can’t hang on the corner… some people may not be comfortable with that.”

  83. kk says:

    i like quote number six , 4 me is the best quote i have ever come across anywhere in my life!

  84. trainer for gold…

    […]Jay-Z quotes to live by « pleasedontstare[…]…

  85. Anonymous says:

    “I was gonna kill a couple rappers but they did it to themselves, I was gone kill em with the flow but they did it with theyselves, I was gone 9/11 them but they didnt need the help, and they did a good job them boys is talented as hell. Not only did they brick they put a building up as well, and ran a plane into that building and when that building fell, ran to the crash sight with no mask and inhaled, toxics deep inside their lungs until both of them was failed…”

    He’s a genius

    Blueprint 3
    Jay-z
    Thank You

  86. Fitness Reader…

    […]Jay-Z quotes to live by « pleasedontstare[…]…

  87. Eskort Alem says:

    Eskort Alem…

    […]Jay-Z quotes to live by « pleasedontstare[…]…

  88. Adult Sex Toys…

    […]Jay-Z quotes to live by « pleasedontstare[…]…

  89. Have herpes or HPV Cure it now Naturally

  90. Very energetic post, I enjoyed that bit. Will there be a part 2?

  91. Many thanks for composing “Jay-Z quotes to live by
    pleasedontstare”. I reallymight undoubtedly wind up being coming back for more reading through and writing comments shortly.
    Thank you, Anita

  92. Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after browsing through a few of the posts I realized it’s new
    to me. Nonetheless, I’m definitely happy I discovered it and I’ll be book-marking it and
    checking back often!

  93. Sonja says:

    But these people are few and far between and can provide a false of security.
    The main question is, do you really believe in what you have to sell to such a degree that you would invest in one yourself.
    You may also try to sell old i – Pad and its parts to a person who needs them as spares and will make a good
    use of your broken electronic device.

  94. Having read this I believed it was rather enlightening.

    I appreciate you spending some time and energy
    to put this short article together. I once again
    find myself personally spending way too much time both reading and
    leaving comments. But so what, it was still worth it!

  95. Angie says:

    Great blog here! Also your site loads up fast! What web host are you using?

    Can I get your affiliate link to your host? I wish my site loaded up
    as fast as yours lol

  96. Heya i am just initially below. I came across this kind of aboard i think it is truly handy & this helped me to out and about a great deal. Lets hope to give some thing again and guide some others just like you forced me to be.

  97. What’s up Dear, are you actually visiting this site regularly, if so afterward you will definitely take good know-how.

  98. Many thanks for a further beneficial site. The area in addition may possibly I get that sort of info designed in this type of best way? I own a challenge that we’re basically at this moment managing with, and i have recently been with the peek away for similarly info.

  99. does drinking olive oil help dry skin

  100. Emmanuel Danso says:

    Hov is the man!

  101. Some posts make you smile, some posts leave you feeling sad, this particular one made me think, which is what I like the best.

  102. Hey! Do you know if they make any plugins to assist with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not seeing very good results.
    If you know of any please share. Kudos!

  103. Violet says:

    Today i spent 300 dollars for platinium roulette system
    , i hope that i will make my first $$$ online

  104. Alfie says:

    I see interesting content here. Your site can go viral easily,
    you need some initial traffic only. How to get it?
    Search for: ricusso’s methods massive traffic

  105. Guitarist85x says:

    http://endorsio.pl/?p=346
    Purchasing a new or used auto can be quite a difficult procedure should you not know what you really are performing. By teaching yourself about car shopping prior to go to the dealership, you can make stuff easier on your own. The following advice will help your following purchasing vacation be more satisfying.

    Usually take a auto technician alongside when searching for a new automobile. Auto sellers are well known for offering lemons and you may not want to be their after that target. If you can not get yourself a mechanic to look at autos with you, at least be sure that you have him take a look at closing choice prior to buying it.

    Know your boundaries. Before you begin purchasing for your forthcoming automobile or vehicle, determine what you can manage to spend, and stick to it. Don’t forget to add fascination with your computations. You are likely to spend close to 20 % as a payment in advance also, so prepare yourself.

    Prior to seeing a dealer, know which kind of automobile you desire. Study each one of you options just before shopping in order to evaluate which works well with your budget and loved ones demands. Do your homework to learn simply how much you ought to pay for the possible vehicle.

    Before you sign any agreement spend some time to read every single collection, like the fine print. If you have nearly anything shown you do not comprehend, will not indication till you receive an response that you comprehend. Unsavory salesmen may use a legal contract to put a lot of charges that have been not discussed.

    When you maintain the previous assistance under consideration when that you go buying a vehicle, you will be more prone to get a better deal. Investing in a automobile does not have to become headaches. Simply use the tips out of this article and you could get the auto you want with a good value.

  106. free psn codes no surveys or offers

    Jay-Z quotes to live by | pleasedontstare

  107. https://bitbucket.org

    Jay-Z quotes to live by | pleasedontstare

  108. visual sourcesafe free download

    Jay-Z quotes to live by | pleasedontstare

  109. Bernardine says:

    Thanks for the info!

  110. websitegafe says:

    Ищу хорошего веб мастера.Хочу создать современный сайт, интересный людям и полезный для меня.Оплата по договоренности. подробнее…

Leave a comment